My name is Caterina, I come from the sunny island of Sicily. I am a mum of two wonderful children, Emiliano and Leila. I’m currently working as Nursery Nurse in Ivydale Primary School. I’m also passionate about food and cooking is one of my favorite hobbies, so much that recently I have launched a small Italian catering business called Tarallucci and Vino!

How long have you lived in the area?

Nearly 10 years.

What brought you here?

I came to London after finishing my degree back in Italy, I wanted to study English and I had broken up with my partner at that time ……..who is now the father of my two children. He eventually later follow me in London and the story has continues since then. Together we moved here because we found a great and cheap flat. Only later I realized how quirky and stimulating place is this to live. I am feeling very lucky now.

Do you belong to any groups?

Yes I belong to Down South London, a charity that supports families with children with Down syndrome in South London. My little girl Leila has got Down syndrome and she has been attending therapies with DSL since she was 5 months old. DSL has helped my little Leila a lot especially after her birth when we first started the therapy.

Being DSL parents run charities which rely solely on fundraising, I and my partner have decided to get involved in the planning of some event to promote the charity and the raise some money: next one will be The Summer Fair at Peckham Rye Park on Saturday 11th July.

What’s your favourite place for a night out?

Definitely Bussey Building for a nice night out with friends.

Where are you likely to be found on Saturday?

On a sunny day at Dulwich Park on a rainy day at the soft play in Peckham with the kids.

What is your favourite place to eat?

Franco Manca for an amazing sourdough pizza and the Herne Tavern for a succulent roast.

Coffee or tea? Where?

Coffee definitely at Caffe Nero for the relaxing and cosy ambient or at “Mouse tail” in Peckham for the lovely and creamy coffee as a treat after my daughter swimming lessons!

Cafe, pub or bar?

Depends from my mood and if the kids are with me, obviously!

What is your favourite shop?

Sugar and Celestial boutique in Lordship Lane for myself, Mama Jojo Bebe’ for the kids.

My perfect holiday…

Somewhere deep south, Latin America perhaps with lovely beaches and lot of sunshine….